Nepal Visa Information Nepal Visa Information Nepal Visa Information

Nepal Visa Information

The government of Nepal has revised the visa fee effective from 16th of July 2008. Tourists who visit Nepal must hold valid passport and visa. Tourist entry visa can be obtained for the following duration from Nepal Embassy/Consulate or Mission offices abroad, or at the following immigration offices in Nepal:

Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu, Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal), Birganj, Parsa (Central Nepal), Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border), Belhiya, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal), Jamuna, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal), Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal), Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal).

Visa Fees

Multiple entry     15 days     US$ 25 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple entry     30 days     US$ 40 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple entry     90 days     US$ 100 or equivalent convertible currency

Tourist Visa Extension

Visa extension fee for 15 days or less is US $ 30 or equivalent convertible currency and visa extension fee for more than 15 days is US$ 2 per day

Tourist visa can be extended for a maximum period of 150 days in a single visa year (January – December).

Gratis (Free) Visa

Gratis visa for 30 days available only for tourists of SAARC countries.
Indian nationals do not require visa to enter into Nepal.

Transit Visa

Transit visa for one day can be obtained from Nepal's immigration offices at the entry points upon the production of departure flight ticket via Tribhuvan International Airport in Nepal, by paying US $ 5 or equivalent convertible currency.

For further information, please contact
Department of Immigration
Kalikasthan, Dillibazar, Kathmandu.
Tel : 977 - 01 - 4433934 / 4429660 / 4438862 / 4438868

(Web site:

Office Hours

Sunday to Thursday: 10 a.m. - 17 p.m. in summer
                               10 a.m. - 16 p.m. in winter (Nov. to Jan.)

Friday:                     10 a.m. -15 p.m.

Visa Application Hours
Sunday to Thursday: 10 a.m. - 15 p.m.

Friday:                     10 a.m. - 13 p.m.